Lately (02.15.15)

It’s been a long time since I blogged. It’s been even longer since I’ve blogged about what we’ve been up to lately!

IMG_1308

IMG_1309

IMG_1267

IMG_1266

IMG_1487

A couple weeks ago we both took a day off work to celebrate Brad’s birthday. We wanted to go somewhere that isn’t normally open when we can go, so we went to Happy Gillis near the River Market on our friend Chris’s recommendation. There was something about it that reminded us of Springfield, which was nice.

Next we got coffee at Thou Mayest. We’d only been there once on the weekend when it was super busy, so it was nice to be there in a chill atmosphere.

IMG_1310

IMG_1291

IMG_1312

IMG_1311

IMG_1293

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and we had an all-around great day. We slept in, then went to Chez Elle for what was supposed to be brunch, but was more like lunch. It was a long wait, but worth it. If you’ve never been to the Westside, check it out! I’ve loved everything there. Chez Elle, Westside Local, and Blue Bird Bistro are all great. And you have to stop in Westside Story while you’re there – another great place that reminds us of Springfield.

In the afternoon we did a little shopping, then cashed in Brad’s free Starbucks birthday drink while doing a little “passion planning”. I recently got a passion planner for 2015. It helps you brainstorm goals, plan how to achieve those goals, and put steps in place to make it all happen! We made 3 month goals, 1 year goals, 3 year goals, and lifetime goals. If you follow me on Instagram you saw my video of it unfold! I definitely recommend the passion planning process even if you don’t have the planner!

Two grocery stores after that, we went home and Brad made s fire while I cooked us a fancy meal! I made the Valentine’s dinner from the Pioneer Woman’s holiday cookbook. The garlic roasted mashed potatoes were great and the bacon wrapped steak filet were amazing! I was pretty proud of how well it all turned out!

Then we made s’mores in the fire and watched my favorite movie, You’ve Got Mail!

Other random stuff –

– It’s really cold today
– We’ve started the home buying process…. Ahhhhh!
– Royals season is starting soon! #foreverroyal
– We’re going to the NEEDTOBREATHE and Ben Rector concert at the KC Crossroads in April. You should go too!

I hope y’all had a great weekend!

2 comments

  1. I’m so glad I came across your blog last night! My fiance lives in Kansas so it’s nice to find new adventures through someone who lives around the area! Can’t wait to try these places out. We visited the River Market for antique stores last year but didn’t stick around to eat.

    1. Good! I love following blogs of people that live in the area so I can find fun things to do around town! You’ll definitely have to visit the River Market again and check out quay coffee!

Leave a comment