Lately 4.22.14

It’s been pretty crazy around here lately, so my thoughts may be a little scattered.

Brad has officially been living in KC for a month. He loves his new job and he’s enjoying spending time with his dad, but I think he’s getting pretty tired of driving down to Springfield every weekend.

We’ve been packing up as much as we can every weekend to send with Brad. My parents are so generous to let us store all of our stuff at their house! This is my last week in our duplex. We’re officially moving the remainder of our things this Sunday. The house is a little depressing right now because all that’s left is the furniture, some kitchen stuff, and my clothes.

image

I’m a big fan of The Voice winner Danielle Bradbery. She was coming to Springfield in concert with Hunter Hayes and I really wanted to see her, but didn’t want to pay for tickets because they were a little expensive and I’d basically be paying to see Hunter Hayes. Luckily, working for MSU has its perks and I was able to get free tickets a couple of days before the concert! My friend Michelle and I watched her season together, so it was a lot of fun to get to see her in person!

image

image

I’ve been thankful for cuddles with this little girl since Brad has been gone. My parents came to visit for Easter this weekend and they took her with them so we wouldn’t have to mess with her during the big move. I really miss her, but I know she’s loving it at my parents. I’m worried that she’ll like them better than Brad and me!

image

I will not miss all of the cats around our duplex.

image

We’re sure going to miss Saturday brunch at Gailey’s.

image

We got a fish! It’s a Betta and its name is Noodles. Brad has been wanting a fish for a while, so we finally got one! It’s new home is in Brad’s office at Midwestern.

image

I had my thesis defense and presentation last week and I passed! I wasn’t too worried about not passing, but it feels good to be done with it. To complete my masters degree at MSU there are a few requirements: write a thesis, take a comprehensive exam with each committee member, give a thesis presentation and defend it with your committee, and take a certain number of graduate courses. I’ve turned in my thesis, passed my thesis defense, taken all of my classes, and taken two of my comprehensive exams. That means all I have left is to take one more comprehensive exam! It’s crazy that I am so close to being done!

I’ve decided that graduating from graduate school is more like graduating from high school than from undergraduate. I was still super busy working and studying clear up until graduation when I was at SBU. But in high school, the last month was laid back and I slowly got everything turned in and taken care of. Now, I have stuff to do before graduation, but the majority of my responsibilities have been fulfilled already and graduation is still three weeks away.

One thing that has remained the same about each graduation is how I feel about it. At the end of each chapter of education, I’ve been thankful for what I’ve learned and the relationships I’ve made, but I’ve been ready for the next step and what the Lord has for me. My time at MSU has been great, but I don’t think I’ll miss it. I’m really looking forward to our new adventure!

Okay enough rambling. Now you’re updated on our life!

Leave a Reply

