Memories in the Kitchen

I was browsing Pinterest today and stumbled across this pin:

Kitchen spot

I was at my parents’ house for a quick trip to KC yesterday, so feelings of home are fresh in my mind. This pin got me thinking about growing up and spending time in the kitchen with family.

I love my mom’s kitchen. There’s plenty of counter space to sit on no matter how many times she tells me to get off. (She probably thought I’d eventually grow out of the compulsion to sit on the countertop.) I probably have more memories in the kitchen than any other room in my parents’ house. My mom taught me how to cook in the kitchen. In high school we’d sit at the bar while I told her my adolescent woes. College breaks had me sitting on the counter while I watched her make my favorite meals while I was home. Lately my visits consist of Brad, my parents and me sipping coffee in the kitchen while we chat about the future.

Brad and I aren’t planning on having kiddos any time soon, but we are thinking and praying about what we desire for our family. I treasure these memories and I’m looking forward to making new ones with our future family!

Leave a Reply

