2014 Goals

I stumbled upon this on Pinterest this other day (from the blog Home Sweet First Home).

NY goals

I like this template because I often don’t know where to begin when it comes to New Years resolutions and goals. Most are about health or finance, but this list gives a variety of things to strive for. Also it uses words like “hope” and “like” so that it doesn’t feel so disappointing if it doesn’t happen!

Brad and I went through the list and I’ve decided to share mine!

A bad habit I’m going to break: Mine isn’t so much to break a bad habit, but start a good one. I want to get in the habit of having an intention time with God to read my Bible, pray, and journal. I will often read a short Bible passage on my phone when I’ve got a few extra minutes, and I pray short prayers throughout the day as things come to mind, but I am bad about really sitting down and spending quality time with the Lord.

A new skill I’d like to learn: This is not very specific, but I’d like to learn how to cook in new ways! I’m often intimidated by trying new recipes with a skill I’ve never done before or a food I’ve never cooked. Instead of just skipping over those recipes on Pinterest, I’d like to actually try to make them!

A person I hope to be more like: I’d like to be more like Julie Simcosky, my pastor’s wife from when I was a kid. Julie has come to my mind frequently in the past several months as we have been planting Freshwater Church. I’m not a pastor’s wife, but people look to Brad and me as leaders, as we are a part of the core team. I’m sure many of you have experienced that transition from youth group, to college student, to actually being an active member of a church. I can’t just come to the events that have food anymore! Julie was a great example of a godly, servant leader. She was always friendly, full of joy, and willing to serve in any way. I haven’t seen or talked to Julie in almost 10 years, but she is still making an impact on me. That is the kind of life I strive to live out.

A good deed I’m going to do: Making “blessing bags” to keep in our car to give to homeless people. We see homeless people fairly often around where we live and I always wish I had something helpful to give them. Blessing bags are gallon ziplock bags that can include things like granola bars, kleenexes, coupons, a Bible, hand sanitizer, travel size shampoo, conditioner, and soap.

A place I’d like to visit: I’m really hoping we can go to Florida to visit Harry Potter World this year! I’ve never been to Florida, and I’ve always wanted to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios.

A book I’d like to read: I’m planning on reading the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers. I bought the first and the third book a while ago at a thrift store and haven’t been able to find the second. I need to just buy it online so I can finally read the series! I read Redeeming Love a couple of years ago (also by Francine Rivers), and many people told me if I liked Redeeming Love, then I’ll love the Mark of the Lion series!

A letter I’m going to write: I’d like to write a letter to my brother, because it’s always fun to get mail at college!

A new food I’d like to try: I’d like to try more fruits! I get in a rut of just buying bananas and apples, but this year I’d like to eat more mangos, pears, pineapple, etc.

I’m going to do better at: Crafting! I love to craft, but I don’t do it as often as I’d like. I have tons of things pinned on my Crafts and DIY Pinterest board, but have made very few of them. I always end of crocheting, which I love, but I’d like to also try some new things.

Here’s to a great 2014! Do you have any resolutions or goals for the new year?

3 comments

  1. I really loved the Mark of the Lion series. I read it a couple times! And if you’re ever up for it, I’d like to get Springfield-area bloggers together for a meet up – maybe we can do a crafting session to use up those Pinterest ideas!

Leave a Reply

