Blessings

It’s November, which means my Facebook newsfeed has been cluttered with thankful statuses. I haven’t joined this trend, but tonight I’ve been reflecting on some of the blessings the Lord has provided for me over the past year and a half.

A couple of hours ago I got an email from the Dean of Biology Graduate department informing me that I had been selected for this year’s Distinguished TA Award for the Biology department. I was hoping to win and to be honest I knew I had a pretty good chance, but I was still very surprised and honored to be recognized by the department.

This got me thinking about my time at MSU and honestly I’ve really enjoyed it. I’ve learned a lot, gotten to travel to several conferences, experienced the joy of teaching, and I’ve made some wonderful friends. Tonight I am overwhelmed by the blessing that being a grad student at MSU has been in my life.

Furthermore, MSU brought us to Springfield, which brought us to Freshwater Springfield, which has been a whole other blessing in itself.

Two years ago I had no idea what I was going to do after I graduated from SBU. But the Lord is sovereign, and He led us here. Sometimes I succumb to my flesh and I fear the future and the fact that I do not know what it holds. But God constantly reminds me that He is in control, and He has not given me a spirit of fear, but of love and power and of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7).

God is good. Tonight I am thankful for His faithfulness.

20131113-212613.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

