Afghan for our Bedroom

I’ve decorated our bedroom in neutral colors with a red accent and we’ve really enjoyed it! There was only one thing that really didn’t fit with the decor: the afghan. We use a sheet and a comforter on the bed, but there is usually always an afghan on top. For the past year we’ve used an afghan that I had made Brad when we were dating. It was warm, but did not match the rest of the room (it’s blue, green, and brown). Plus, it didn’t quite cover the whole bed. Around Christmas time I started making an afghan for our bed that would match the rest of the decor and that would be big enough for the two of us. I finished it about two weeks ago and I just now got around to taking pictures of it!

IMG_3708

IMG_3711

IMG_3717

I didn’t want to do anything complicated, but I wanted to do something new. I did a waffle stitch, which was really easy and I love how it ended up looking. I love that each side looks really different! I varied the colors and size of stripe at random, which is more difficult that it sounds! This is the biggest afghan I’ve ever made and I’m really happy with our it turned out.

I just started on another (smaller) afghan for someone for Christmas! I’ve done the same pattern before for an afghan I made my mom, so it should go pretty quickly. After that I will start on a baby blanket for my dear friend Katie!! Baby blankets are so fun to make because they are soft, cute, and small! I’ll be sure to share each when I am finished!

Leave a Reply

