One Year of Marriage

Brad and I have been married for one year. It is 70 degrees and cloudy today. It was 108 and sunny on our wedding day a year ago. I was one sweaty bride, but it was still the perfect day. I got to marry my best friend while surrounded by the people most important to me. Here are a few thoughts about our life this past year and what is to come.
424680_3931376245171_147796734_n

I had always heard people say that the first year of marriage is so difficult and learning to live with that person can be really challenging, but I have to admit I don’t really feel that way about our first year. Living with Brad has been surprisingly easy. Of course he does things that drives me crazy (like leaving a damp towel on the bed) (and buying the wrong type of hamburger), but I can deal with those things. We’ve grown closer and learned a lot about each other, and have had a blast along the way.

20130728-213002.jpg

My parents take a picture of themselves every year on their anniversary and keep them in an album. It is so fun to look through the album and see how much they have changed! Brad and I are going to do the same!

20130728-213334.jpg

Brad and I love to try new things and set out to experience all that Springfield has to offer us in the short time we are here. This year we went to a roller derby, hit up Silver Dollar City (my parents bought us season passes!), saw the Springfield Lazers tennis team play, took part in a LifeGroup airsoft gun battle, ate at some great Springfield restaurants, made friends with the Starbucks employees, went to a Springfield Cardinals game, ate too much Chic-fil-a, found a favorite park, and saw Bob Dylan in concert for free. Still on the list to experience is The Moxie Cinema, Wild Animal Safari, and spending the day at one of the lakes nearby.

20130728-213112.jpg

Last weekend Casie asked me how I thought I had changed in the past year. This was an intriguing question, and I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. I don’t feel like I have changed, but after some reflection I’ve thought of several ways I have changed, but I’ll just share one.

I thought of something I used to not care about at all, but has become a regular topic for Brad and me. I’ve typically been pretty ignorant of current events and things happening around the world. Brad introduced me to NPR and I’ve started reading the newspaper regularly. So why is the news important, anyway? Isn’t it just full of sadness? That’s what I used to think. Brad has taught me that as a Christian, it is important to be informed about what is going on around the world, and how to approach topics from a Christian world-view. As Christians, we shouldn’t ignore the hurt in the world, but ask ourselves what this means in light of the Kingdom of God and how it affects how we should live.

20130728-214338.jpg

On a lighter note, I used to think that when I got married my house would always be picked up and clean and it would immediately be decorated according to my Pinterest board. In reality, decorating has been a slow and expensive process and I’m not exactly the housekeeper I dreamt I would be. Of course I do think maybe I’ve been set up for failure by my mom, though, whose house is always spotless and picked up. High standards.

20130728-214411.jpg

Though my housekeeping skills have some room for improvement, I’ve made a lot of progress in the cooking department. I’ve tried to make something new at least once a week. I even did a post about some of my favorite new recipes! There have been plenty of failures, but it has been fun to make something new and have it turn out really great! Mom and I have really enjoyed swapping recipes this year.

20130728-214446.jpg

On a similar note, you may have noticed that some couples gain a lot of weight after getting married. I can totally see how this happens! I went from being a college student whose staples were grilled cheese and cereal, to a wife that cooks full meals multiple nights a week. Brad and I were determined not to gain a lot of weight after getting married. I’m proud to say that we’ve not only kept weight off, we’re both in better shape than we’ve probably ever been. Brad is currently training for a half-marathon and I’ve finally reached a level of fitness I had wanted for a long time. Working out is one of our favorite things to do together. I’m really thankful for a husband that not only encourages me to be fit, but is my workout partner.

20130728-214518.jpg

Brad and I were a little worried about making new friends in this new stage of life. We are no longer SBU students, but are still partially a part of that community, and we weren’t sure what that was going to look like. God was so faithful this year to bring us a great community. I’ve been fortunate to have an awesome group in the lab I work in at MSU, and SBU admissions has been the perfect place for Brad. Most importantly, our Freshwater Church LifeGroup and being a part of the core team to plant Freshwater Church Springfield has been the biggest blessing. We’ve developed some awesome friendships and we’re so excited about what God is doing and is going to do in north Springfield.

I don’t know where the Lord will lead me in the years to come. I will graduate in less than a year and I’ll be off onto a new adventure. I’m happy to know that my best friend will be joining me. Happy Anniversary, Brad. I love you.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

