My Favorite Apps

I’m fairly new to the smart phone world. If I hadn’t gotten married to Brad, I would still have a phone that only called and texted. So for all you twelve-year-olds out there that are dying for the newest smart phone, I made it through middle school, high school, and college, and you can too!

That being said, I really do enjoy my iPhone. I think I appreciate it even more because I waited for so long to get one. I find myself always looking for good apps, so I thought I’d share my favorites with you. Among the obvious are Facebook (I actually still like to look at Facebook better on my laptop), Twitter (I rarely look at Twitter on my laptop anymore), and Instagram (the app I was most excited for when I got an iPhone). Most people have those three, so I’ll focus on my other favorite apps that you may not have!

Swackett

Swackett is a weather app. I like it because the graphics are cute, and it tell you the high, what it will actually feel like, and what you should wear that day. It also gives you fun facts! Here is today’s: 69% of teens have their own computer. There ya go! Fun fact for the day! In addition to the cute-ness and fun-ness, you can also look at the hourly forecast, the forecast for the week, and the radar. If you’re looking for a weather app that is cooler than the one that comes on the phone, check out Swackett.

20130714-151838.jpg

A Beautiful Mess

A Beautiful Mess app is a photo app created by the bloggers Elsie and Emma from A Beautiful Mess. (If you haven’t checked out their blog, you should. It’s one of my very favorite blogs!) (And they live in Springfield!) I’ve tried a lot of different photo editing apps and haven’t liked one as much as this one. You can add filters, borders, text, doodles, and phrases. I’m really cheap, so I don’t like to pay for my apps normally. This one is 99 cents, but it was worth it.

20130714-151902.jpg

Yoga Studio

Last summer my brother and I went to a yoga class twice a week. I was hesitant at first, but I ended up really liking it! I haven’t wanted to spend money on a membership at a yoga studio here in Springfield, and you have to pay for the classes at Missouri State. I had tried several different yoga apps at home, but couldn’t get into any of them. Yoga Studio costs $2.99, but I downloaded it one day when it was free. There is a variety of ready-made classes at beginner, intermediate, and advanced skill levels that simulate actually being at a yoga class. The classes are 15, 30, or 60 minutes, and you can choose to focus on flexibility, strength, balance, or a combination. Yoga Studio was just what I was looking for in a at-home yoga app.

20130714-151927.jpg

Spotify

Brad and I decided to get Spotify Premium and it was a great decision. It’s $10 a month, but we definitely get out money’s worth. Any music you could ever want to listen to is right there on your phone, and you can download playlists so you can listen when you are without wifi or 3G. It even has a radio feature like Pandora does. (I’ve currently been listening to Relient K’s new album, Collapsible Lung.)

20130714-151946.jpg

Hobby Lobby

I make way too many trips to Hobby Lobby. Having one just down the street has been dangerous this past year. Luckily, stuff is always going on sale. But if it’s not on sale, you can whip out your Hobby Lobby app and pull up a 40% off coupon! Things like yarn rarely go on sale, so that’s usually what I use it on. It’s really come in handy!

20130714-152016.jpg

Pulse

Pulse is a news app. It features news stories from a variety of news sources and you can create your own menus of topics. For example, mine are news, technology, science, fun & humor, women’s lifestyle, women’s health, and entertainment. I like that I find news stories from a lot of places, rather than having to visit each website.

20130714-152040.jpg

Of course there are a lot of other apps that I use, but this would become a really long blog post. Let me know if you try any of these apps and how you like it!

Leave a Reply

