Lately (7.7.13)

Well it’s been a while since I’ve done a “Lately” post, but I’ll try to keep it short. Brad and I have been lovin’ summer. I’ve been really busy in the lab, and things have slowed down at work for Brad. Here are some highlights from our last few weeks.

20130706-192338.jpg

I went to Maranatha Bible Camp with Freshwater Church kids. It was such a great couple of days to get away from regular life, be outside, love on kids, and praise Jesus. It was really cool to see the kids start to make their faith their own. Kids camp was one of the first things that helped shape my faith journey, so it is dear to my heart.

20130706-192503.jpg

Speaking of church, Brad and I are involved in planting a church through Freshwater Church in northwest Springfield. The core team journeyed to the Missouri Baptist Convention in Jeff City a few weekends ago for our first session of training! It helped get us all excited for our launch and it was a good chance to get to know others on the core team. I’ll let you know when we officially launch!

20130706-192743.jpg

This is Taylor’s Drive-In. It’s been here since 1947, but it’s only open Monday through Friday from 11 to 2, so Brad and I have never been able to go. We actually had a week day off, so we took advantage of it by going to Taylor’s! It was delicious and the staff was really sweet. I definitely recommend it if you get the chance!

20130706-192948.jpg

We got to go home to Kansas City! We hadn’t been there since Easter, so we were really excited to spent the weekend in our hometowns.

20130706-192957.jpg

I got to spend some quality time with my mom. I was lucky to come home the same weekend that a friend of ours was having their baby shower! I miss getting to do things like that with my mom.

20130706-193119.jpg

And I got to see my Casie! I left Brad for a night to have a sleepover in her new apartment! It was such a blessing to spent time with my best friend!

20130706-193332.jpg

A great weekend in Raymore was completed with a delicious meal at my favorite chinese place, Oriental Garden.

20130706-193443.jpg

Brad and I spent our first married 4th of July together with friends, food, and fireworks.

20130706-193553.jpg

We wanted to keep the party going after the fireworks, so we played a new game called HedBanz. It was really fun! It think Brad and I are going to have to get it.

20130706-193729.jpg

I had Friday off after the 4th, so I got to do some shopping! I saw a sign that had this saying at Francesca’s a long time ago, but didn’t buy it and I have regretted it ever since. I was so excited to find this at Hobby Lobby! And it was 50% off! I would have payed full price for it! Hollaaaa! It was the perfect addition to our kitchen. I love it.

20130706-193742.jpg

Have you been to The Cup? It’s my favorite! There’s another cupcake place in Springfield called Gigi’s, but I think there is too much icing. I have loved everything I’ve gotten at The Cup (but I mean they are cupcakes, so how can you really go wrong?). This one was dark chocolate cupcake with peanut butter icing and pieces of Reeses on the top. Yummmmmmmm.

I hope that you had a lovely Independence Day weekend! Don’t you wish every weekend was a four-day weekend?

Leave a Reply

