My Crochet Story

If you haven’t noticed, crocheting is one of my favorite hobbies. I can barely sit and watch TV or a movie without yarn and a hook in my hands.

There are so many reasons to love crocheting!! For example:

If you are making an afghan, it keeps you warm as you make it! 

Homemade gifts are the best! (This year I made two scarves and an afghan for Christmas presents!)

When someone asks you where you got that adorable scarf you can say, “I made it!” 

My grandma taught me the basics when I was only 8 years old. I think I also like crocheting because it reminds me of my grandma and it’s something that I’ll always have that was from her. I find a lot of value in skills like sewing, quilting, crocheting, knitting, and embroidery. I’m slowly working on mastering each one. I’d love to learn to make my own clothes! Does this make me a nerd? A grandma? A hipster?

Have you thought about learning to crochet? Don’t be afraid! My grandma taught me to chain, single crochet, and double crochet, but other than that I have learned mostly from YouTube and Pinterest. And if you live near me, I’d love to teach you!!

My upcoming projects include pillows for the living room and a large afghan for our bedroom. I’ve been dragging my feet on starting both because I can’t decide on colors and patterns!

Fellow crocheters: What’s your favorite thing you’ve made? Where is your favorite place to find patterns?

One comment

  1. My Grandma taught me to crochet when I was 7 or 8 too. I still love it, and I have loved working at increasing my skills over the years. I love to crochet in the car, or while watching tv, anytime my hands would otherwise be free! Most recently I’ve enjoyed teaching others to crochet and have found that to be rewarding. My favorite place to find patterns is Ravelry. My favorite thing I’ve made is shown on my gravatar pic (sorry not the best lighting).

Leave a Reply

