How to Crochet a Star

A few weeks ago I found this on Pinterest:

272467846177458000_Re08rB59_c

Cute, right? Unfortunately the link didn’t lead to the pattern. I decided to try to make my own pattern! Here is what I did:

I used a J hook and Red Heart yarn. I think the Pinterest picture looks a little better than mine because the yarn appears to be better quality than what I used.

Chain 7 and make a ring. (This was a little small. You could maybe go chain 10)

20121202-223246.jpg

Crochet 5 puff stitches in the ring.

20121202-223255.jpg

In the top of each puff stitch: Double crochet 3, chain 1, double crochet 3. Chain 1 in between each set of 6 double crochets.

20121202-223302.jpg

20121202-223311.jpg

The third row is when it becomes a star. This row is similar to the second row. In each set of 6 double crochets from the second row, crochet another 6 double crochets in the chain. For these 6 double crochets, chain 3 instead of 1. You will double crochet 3, chain 3, double crochet 3.

The next step is a little tricky. Next you single crochet into the chain that separates the 6 double crochets in the second row. Go straight into a double crochet for the next set of 6.

Repeat to complete 5 points of the star.

20121202-223327.jpg

There you have it! It only took me about 15 minutes.

20121202-223333.jpg

I’m currently using mine as a coaster, but they can also be easily be turned into an ornament!

20121202-223418.jpg

35 comments

  1. Bravo!! I also saw this on Pinterest and was disappointed to find out there was not a pattern! ;( Thanks sooo much for sharing your pattern!! I think I’m going to make some of these and hang them on my Christmas tree!

    1. Yes! That is a great question. Simply, you yo, then yarn-over, then repeat three times (total of four times). You will have 9 loops on your hook. Then you yo and bring the yarn through all 9 loops, then chain to finish it off.

      I have learned most crochet techniques through YouTube videos. Click here for a puff stitch video.

      I hope that helps!

  2. The original was made out of crochet cotton. I made mine out out of the crochet
    Cotton and they look just like the original picture! Thanks for the pattern

  3. I saw this last year and have wanted to make them for my Christmas tree. I have been frustrated all year because there was no pattern. I am so happy I came across your pattern.. Thank you so much for taking the time to help us!!!

  4. Could you clarify the third row? Do you crochet one single crochet into the chain three between the 6dc and that’s all. How are we going around the star to get to the chain 3? What do you mean by go into a double crochet for the next set of six? Also, are we slip stitching to the beginning Of each row and are we chaining any after the slip stitches in the begging of each row (if we are slip stitching) Sorry for all the questions. I’m sure it’s my lack comprehension lol.

    1. I’m not sure if I understand all of your questions, but I will try! The second row is comprised of sets of 6 double crochets (pairs of 3 with a chain in between). The second row is the same way, but with 3 chains in between each set of 3 double crochets. After you have the “point” of the star, you will single crochet to connect it back to the second row. You do not have to chain at the beginning of the third row. Just start from the slip stitch.

  5. I have done similar but with 6 puffs around the ring to make a 6 point star, then infill between the points to make hexagons, join together to make a cot blanket for my grand nephew.

  6. Thank you for the pattern. I was able to follow until the last part. Can you please clafify “Go straight into a double crochet for the next set of 6.” I see where I SC to make the 5 points but am unclear how to get to each chain section.

  7. Thank you for the pattern. I was able to follow along unail the end. Can you please clarify ” Go straight into a double crochet for the next set of 6.”? Thanks again! :)

    1. I mean that you do not have to chain. Normally, you would chain 2 or 3 to get the height of your double crochet, but you want it to start from the base of your second row. I hope that makes sense!

  8. I made one using a smaller yarn with a D hook. It didn’t look quite finished when I was done, so I added this fourth round:
    RND 4: *sc 3, sc 5 in ch loop, sc 3, sl in ch; repeat from * four times; tie off and weave in ends.

Leave a Reply

