8 Gift Ideas for Mom

Oh moms. Aren’t they great? My mom has always been easy to buy for, but this fact also makes me a little lazy when it comes to gift-giving. I can always get my mom a cute piece of jewelry or sweater that I would like for myself, because (lucky for me) we have pretty similar taste and size.

I’ve recently started making an effort to find a gift that is a little more special than a bracelet from Kohls. The key to shopping for mom is to get her something she wouldn’t normally buy for herself (actually this is a pretty good rule for anyone). Don’t be afraid to get her something she may already have! It’s hard to bring yourself to buy something you technically already have, but could really use a new, updated one.

1. Kitchen Utensils: I know your mom’s kitchen is stocked with all of the essentials, but take a look around. Is her potato peeler rusted out? Have those baking sheets seen better days? My mom and dad have been married for 28 years, and most of the items in their kitchen were given to them for their wedding. I noticed this a few years ago and got my mom a few kitchen utensils for Christmas and she still claims it was one of the best gifts she’s gotten. Like I said, moms are hesitant to buy themselves things they already have, so why not treat them to a new and improved version!

2. Photobook: Have you discovered Shutterfly yet? I’ve made a lot of photobooks over the past few years between going to Africa, getting engaged, and getting married. They are slightly pricey (more than a regular photo album, anyways), but once you order a few items from the site, Shutterfly will email special offers weekly. Their offers range from 40% off, to free shipping, to a free photobook! These are a great gift for mom, because they are more personal and can be set out like a coffee table book. You can make a book with pictures of your family over the years, a special trip you took, or of old photos from her childhood. It’s a gift that will definitely mean a lot to her.

3. Fleece Lined Leggings: Buy your mom a pair. Buy yourself a pair. Seriously, these are brilliant. I love wearing leggings (I even wear them as pants occasionally, gasp!). Leggings are a much better option during the winter than bare-legging it or wearing tights/hose, but fleece lined leggings take it to a whole other level. They look like regular leggings on the outside, but are lined with fleece on the inside to keep you warm. Like I said, brilliant. They aren’t exactly easy to find, but I’ve seen them at Francesca’s and Charming Charlie and you can find them online.

4. Lounge Pants: If your mom is like mine, she doesn’t like to spend a lot of money on clothing that no one is going to see her wear, and I can understand. If I have $20 to spend, I want to spend it on a cute top to wear to school or church, not a pair of yoga pants that only Brad will see. Like I said before, get your mom something that she wouldn’t want to spend money on herself!

5. House Plant: Moms often get flowers for mother’s day, because May is the perfect time to plant flowers in the yard, but December is the perfect time for a house plant. It will liven up the house once all of the Christmas decor has been put away and you’re looking down the barrel of at least three more months of winter. Plus, she can think of you every time she sees it!

6. Unique Magazine Subscription: I don’t buy magazines very often, so it’s always a treat when I do. There are a lot of neat magazines out there other than the typical ones we see at the grocery store check out or something she’s been getting for years. It’s like giving her a gift each month of the year! I’m personally itching to check out Molly Makes!

7. Craft Supplies: If you are a crafter, you know that it can sometimes get expensive. Tape, ribbons, scissors, cardstock, felt, fabric… The list is endless! Your crafty mom will love it if you stock her up on all the basics! Ten minutes in Hobby Lobby and you’ll find all you need!

8. Something Handmade: I know this one isn’t very specific, but it’s a start (just get on Pinterest). Moms love handmade stuff, because it takes time and thoughtfulness, which is often more valuable than something you buy at the store.

Good luck hunting for your mom this Christmas! I know that you will find the perfect gift!

Leave a Reply

