Bits of November

I know it is only the tenth of November, but I thought I would share with you some of what’s been going on around here.

We recently bought a dresser. This makes me happy on so may levels. I now have a place to store my endless supply of shorts (How did I accumulate so many shorts???) and sweatpants (Never question how many pairs of sweatpants you have. You can never have enough.). Our bedroom feels a little less empty (Previous to the addition of the dresser, our bedroom housed a bed and two night-stands. Also a basket of stuffed animals). It gives me a place to decorate in our bedroom (I’ve actually added a picture on the wall since taking this picture).

I’m really glad we finally found one that we liked and was a good price. I think I’m going to replace the knobs, though. These are just too boring.

20121110-085842.jpg

The chilly weather always gets me in the mood to do some baking. My mom used to make this all the time growing up. It’s kind of like a cobbler, but a very simple version. There are three ingredients: canned cherry (or any fruit you want, I like strawberry as well) topping (it’s by the pie crusts), yellow cake mix (I get the cheap Jiffy box), and a half a stick of melted butter (or margarine). Pour the cherry filling into the pan, pour the cake mix over the cherries, pour melted butter over the top. Bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes. I recommend eating it warm with vanilla ice cream, but it is good cold too.

This is the first time I’ve used my Swedish pan I received as a wedding present from my dear aunts Sandy and Carol. I need to remember to use it more often! Isn’t it the cutest??

20121110-085900.jpg

Yeah. This happened. Also the back right break light was out at the time. But no worries, but hubby fixed it all up!

20121110-085908.jpg

There he is! I love our Starbucks dates. We have become regulars at this Starbucks and the main barista even knows our names. Life complete.

20121110-085914.jpg

Lately our nights at home have consisted of The Voice, coffee, and studying (on my part). I also recently began writing the paper I will (hopefully) publish in about a year. And so we have the reason for this post: procrastinating. I should be editing the introduction right now! Alas, it is Saturday morning, which means it’s blogging time, not time for sifting through endless publications about Tor2 signaling in yeast. Okay I’ll stop there. I can see you falling asleep already.

20121110-085920.jpg

It’s a beautiful day in the Ozarks! Get out there and enjoy it!

One comment

  1. Katelyn,
    I enjoy reading your blog, it seems a little less stalker-ish than facebook as a way to keep up on your life. Plus, you’re funny and I feel like I get a little bit of my science-nerd fix by hearing about the school part of your life.
    (Big Mommas isn’t always as weird as the night you went there) Oh, and Heroes is a fantastic place to get coffee.
    So, thanks for blogging friend!
    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

