TOMS Makeover

So I’ve had this pair of TOMS for a few years now.

I love my TOMS, but they’ve been in need of an upgrade for a while now. The navy blue has faded and the once-cream color has become a gross beige due to wearing them in the rain a few too many times. Unfortunately, I’m a college student and cannot afford a new pair of TOMS. So I started searching the internet for a tutorial for a TOMS make-over and I found these instructions for dying TOMS. I didn’t follow the instruction exactly, so here is how I dyed mine:

First I gathered my supplies: a 5-gallon bucket, Rit fabric dye, painters tape, and my TOMS.

I got black dye due to the dark stripes on my TOMS, but there were tons of other colors like red, turquoise, purple, and green. A pair of TOMS light in color could easily be dyed any of these colors. Extra bonus: the dye was only $1.88 at Walmart!

I covered the inside and the bottom to keep the original color. Unfortunately, the tape didn’t stay on very well later when they got wet, but maybe you can get the tape to stick better than I did. The dye didn’t seem to hurt the soles, though.

I wanted to keep the original color of the TOMS tags on the sides and on the back so I covered them with painters tape.

Next I poured the dye into the bucket and filled it with hot water.

I had to use gloves and be very careful when handling the dye, because it stains (obviously.)

I submerged the shoes and let them soak for 25 minutes. The instructions for the dye is to submerge the fabric for about 30 minutes. It really just depends on how deep a hue of the new color you want. The original color of the shoes will also affect how long they should be submerged.

I rinsed my TOMS first with hot water, then gradually to cold. I rinsed until no more dye is coming out.

Then I let them dry overnight.

The next day I machine washed them to make sure all of the dye is out before I started wearing them. I washed mine with a load of dark towels in case any dye bled out.

Once they were dry, my new shoes were ready to wear! They still have a hole in the toe, but now instead of cream and navy blue, they are dark purple/grey and black!

6 comments

  1. Super! Hey I saw on pinterest where you can glue new material over the front half where the toe is poking thru, a piece that will compliment the other and they look great.

  2. wow.. i just bought the same dye but my mother had said that if i washed my toms with hot water it would destroy them. i researched and i found your blog!! thank you, did the dye paint the bottom and tags of the shoe? even with the painters tape?

    1. Regina, the painters tape didn’t stay on very once it got wet. The tags and bottom got a little dyed, but not nearly as dark as the rest of the shoes. I would try a stronger tape that will still stick when it gets wet. I hope that helps!

  3. gracias! I just did this and they got blue navy again!! i used the painters tape and it got a little blue-ish in the inside, but the tags didnt :) im happy!!

    Alicia – México

Leave a Reply

